API Documentation

Welcome to Praxia Bank's Developer Portal. This page will help you get up to speed quickly with Praxia Bank's Open API and the rich capabilities offered.

Overview


Praxia Bank's Open API provides a RESTful interface for developers to build customer facing applications accessing Praxia Bank's financial information. This sandbox contains simulated transaction data for imaginary customers that match certain customer profiles.

What sort of applications can I build with the Praxia Bank Open API?

Customer facing retail banking and fintech applications for consumers, SMEs, associations, charities, governments and NGOs; including (but not limited to!) Personal Finance Management (PFM) Solutions, online accounting integration, financial widgets, Savings Apps, Education Apps, Gamification, Peace of Mind Apps, Transparency Apps, Crowd funding, on boarding, CRM etc..

What data and services can I access?

This instance contains simulated customer related data. You can create sandbox payments, customer, products and accounts.
Using the Praxia Bank Open APIs you can:

  • Get account information, balance and transaction history of multiple bank accounts
    
  • Create/Access different views on accounts. Each view grants a subset of the data to a restricted group of users. For example, a customer could offer special views on his account to his accountants, auditors or regulators. A charity might open their accounts to the public
  • Initiate payments

Application registration

You will need to register your application here. You will then get a consumer key and consumer secret for the calls requiring OAuth or Direct Login authentication.

Direct Login and OAuth

The easiest way to authenticate is to use Direct Login. To use OAuth1 we recommend you use (and fork) one of the OAuth Starter SDKs. Both Direct Login and OAuth1 will allow you to access the dummy sandbox customer accounts that have been created for you.

In this Sandbox, you can also authenticate using your Google account and the Google OAuth 2 server. Note that if you authenticate with your Google account, you will need to create your own accounts and transactions by making payments between accounts.

Note: Many examples in the docs/SDKs use the general OBP sandbox domain. Please make sure you use the correct domain in all calls i.e. praxiabank.openbankproject.com !

API documentation

Praxia Bank exposes its Open API using the Berlin v1.3 Standard. Please access the API documentation here.

Customer logins

Developers can use the following logins to get access to dummy customer accounts and transactions:

User –> "Fotis.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!3257eadd", Email –> "fotis.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Vasiliki.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!ca53d398", Email –> "vasiliki.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Nikos.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!2e7c5c72", Email –> "nikos.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Aggeliki.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!5cc4f94c", Email –> "aggeliki.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Barbra.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!535a3929", Email –> "barbra.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Christos.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!e8c6fa1c", Email –> "christos.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Denes.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!1bc17308", Email –> "denes.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Filippa.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!6bf676c4", Email –> "filippa.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Angelique.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!f39128f2", Email –> "angelique.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Aesop.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!200a4576", Email –> "aesop.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Pericles.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!7616ca80", Email –> "pericles.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Simon.Praxia.0002" Password –> "X!bfbc1da8", Email –> "simon.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "George.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!4c06165c", Email –> "george.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Elias.Praxia.0002", Password –> "X!c5ea3f66", Email –>"elias.praxia.0002@x.y"
User –> "Eleanor.Praxia.0002" Password –> "X!71c726f7", Email –> "eleanor.praxia.0002@x.y"

Please ask a member of the Open Bank Project team for more logins if you require so.

FAQ:

Q: I'm getting a 401 even if I enter the right consumer key and secret. Is the endpoint: apisandbox... correct ?
A: No, the correct hostname is praxiabank.openbankproject.com

Q: I'm getting 404's errors!
A: Please avoid trailing slashes as per examples bellow:
https://praxiabank.openbankproject.com/berlin-group/v1.3/accounts 200 OK
https://praxiabank.openbankproject.com/berlin-group/v1.3/accounts/ 404 Not Found

Q: Why doesn't the API work?
A: Please double check that all required parameters are spelt correctly (including http vs https etc.)
A: Check your encoding (pleasde use UTF8)

Do you have more questions? Need to make contact?
To contact the Open Bank Project please:
Email: contact@openbankproject.com
Twitter: @OpenBankProject

Slack: Open the Praxia Bank Project Slack channel | Get Invited